Old Favorites

Remember the great sale on eggplant I told you about in a previous post?  I made up a couple of dishes of eggplant parmesan and popped them in the freezer.  Here’s a picture of a dinner we enjoyed this past week straight from the freezer to the oven to the table.  A little time to make a salad and pour some wine – and voila – it’s dinner time!  (The garlic bread pictured was also made ahead and frozen from the last time I made it for dinner.)  Here’s a tip – if you’re taking the time to make anything that can be easily frozen and enjoyed again within a reasonable amount of time – make two – one to enjoy right then, and one to enjoy sometime soon again – like the garlic bread.  After dinner that night, I’ve enjoyed the eggplant on a sandwich for lunch two days in a row!  Talk about a treat in the middle of a hectic work day!

Eggplant Parmesan

Another one of my make-ahead old favorites is home-made pizza.  Okay, I often buy the dough, but the rest is all me!  We have a great Italian deli close by that has the dough fresh made on a daily basis.  I save myself a step and pick up a couple on my way home from work.  I usually make two pizzas that we have part of each for dinner – then I freeze the rest for slice-by-slice delight anytime the mood strikes!  Toppings range from as much or as little as you like.  I often choose from such toppings as artichoke hearts, pepperoncini, mushrooms, roasted red peppers, pancetta, pepperoni, pesto, fresh-sliced tomatoes, and lots of mozzarella and parmesan cheese!  Mike’s favorite pizza is canadian bacon or ham and pineapple!

Pizza! Fresh from the oven!

2 Comments on “Old Favorites”

  1. Judy Sendra says:

    Both look delicious!I love the artichoke hearts on the pizza; graet idea!

    • rudysdad3 says:

      Thanks, Judy. Glad you found your way to my blog. Wish we could enjoy some of that pizza together! Make a plan to visit – the fun (and food) we’d have!


Leave a Reply

