Salmon-Spinach Burgers, So Easy and Delicious!

Craving a burger and fries? How about a salmon burger? To make it even easier, I used a can (yes, a can!) of salmon from Trader Joe’s! Unlike me, I know, but I thought I’d give it a try – and I’ll be going back for more real soon. You can find a ton of salmon burgers on line, but my creation was fast, easy, and so good.

Salmon Burger

One can of salmon (drained), one egg, two tablespoons mayo, 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard, 1/4 cup chopped spinach (fresh or frozen), about 10 saltine crackers (finely ground – use a plastic bag and a rolling pin), and 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper.   Form into patties (makes 2 large) and coat with Panko breadcrumbs.  (These can be made ahead and placed in the refrigerator until cooking.)  I always double the recipe to make 4 burgers, 2 for now and 2 in the freezer to enjoy again real soon!

Heat a couple tablespoons of olive oil in a skillet. Once hot, add the burgers and cook for about 4-5 minutes per side, or until they’re to your liking. Add a slice of sharp cheddar cheese, a slice of crisp bacon (or not), some avocado, lettuce and tomato – and you’ve got an awesome burger.  I toasted the rolls and made a fast dressing with a little mayo and hot sauce.  Paired with some french fries (Mike’s favorite) and a fast, delicious, healthy (?) meal is ready to enjoy!  How about an ice-cold beer to go with that burger?

3 Comments on “Salmon-Spinach Burgers, So Easy and Delicious!”

  1. tamara says:

    I made these salmon burgers last night, they will heretofore be called “Joe’s Slammin’ Salmon Burgers”. Trader Joes has petite pain rustique which are strong enough to hold up to these hearty burgers. I toasted the buns and topped the burgers with avocado and wasabi arugula (only at Trader Joe’s) for a spicy treat. I didn’t have panko so used regular dry bread crumbs with good results. I think that these would be fabulous served with sweet potato fries!

    • So happy to hear that the burgers were to your liking, and I’m thrilled to have a namesake dish in your repertoire! Mike would totally love the wasabi arugula. I’ll have to pick some of that up. Thanks for the great feedback!

  2. Lynne says:

    Joe – Lollie and I loved this one and will make it again. The panko was a great touch – very crispy. thanks.


Leave a Reply

