July 4th = Ribs!!!

Nothing says the 4th of July (to me, anyway) like (baby back pork) ribs!  You can ask 100 people how they make the perfect ribs and you’ll get 100 different answers.  I’ve tried a variety of recipes over time, but my favorite is not only the easiest, it’s also the most fool-proof and delicious!  Warning:  What you’re about to read will make a true grilling professional shudder, but trust me – you won’t be disappointed!

Baby Back Pork Ribs!

This recipe came to me after several attempts at making ribs that were just ‘okay’.  I’d tried grilling low and slow, I’d tried boiling then grilling, baking then grilling – all with marginal success, but nothing that made me say, OMG, until my latest method!  It couldn’t be easier:  Baby back pork ribs, coated with a dry rub (recipe follows) in a baking dish (13×9) covered tightly with aluminum foil, in a 375F oven for one hour – then remove foil and continue cooking for 10 more minutes to get them crisp and golden brown.  (I increase the temp to 400F for the last uncovered 10 minutes.)  Remove from pan and let rest for 10 minutes lightly covered with foil.  (If using the same cooking foil, turn it over to avoid cross-contamination.)

The dry rub I use is from an Emeril recipe for Baked Jalapeno Poppers (look for that post to come sometime soon),  Essence of Emeril.  I made the Essence and only used it for the poppers, but then I thought about using it in/on a variety of dishes – and it adds a great kick (or BAM, I guess)!  I’ve used it on salmon, in the coating for chicken tenders, and it’s a must for my ribs!  Here’s the recipe that I double and keep on hand in an air-tight container:

Essence (Emeril’s Creole Seasoning):
* 2 1/2 tablespoons paprika
* 2 tablespoons salt
* 2 tablespoons garlic powder
* 1-tablespoon black pepper
* 1-tablespoon onion powder
* 1-tablespoon cayenne pepper
* 1 tablespoon dried leaf oregano
* 1 tablespoon dried thyme

Combine all ingredients thoroughly and store in an airtight jar or container.

Leave a Reply

