Baked Jalapeno Poppers – Emeril

I’ve been making these Baked Jalapeno Poppers for so long, I was sure they were already on this blog.  After being asked for the recipe (thanks, Lynne,) I realized it wasn’t there.  Here you go.  This recipe is right off the Food Network website, compliments of Emeril Lagasse (with a few tips of my own written below.)  He’s not my go-to chef for inspiration or ideas, but this one’s a winner – enjoy!

The following picture is of the prepared poppers before baking.  Since I had about 36 jalapenos, I tripled the recipe.  (It’s a bit labor intensive, so if you’re going to go for it, make it worth your time.)  My (hopefully helpful) tips follow the picture and recipe.

Image(I see a few words got cut off the recipe:  spread “1” tablespoon of cream cheese mixture in each half jalapeno, place poppers “cut” side up on baking sheet, and the sugar content is 1 gm.)Image

After filling about 1/3 of the jalapenos with cream cheese mixture, place them on a tray and pop them in the freezer for a few minutes.  This will help them stay firm while you’re tossing them through flour, egg, and bread crumb mixtures.  (As one bunch is in the freezer, you can start filling another bunch – then switch out and move on.)

Once prepared, I freeze them in bags of about 10 each – the perfect amount for 2 (or 3) people to enjoy as an appetizer.  Before baking, drizzle a little bit of olive oil on each – very little.  Just helps with the extra crispy factor.  (After all, isn’t always about the crunch?)  Naturally, you can skip the “drizzle” if you want.

Finally, I make the “Essence” on a regular basis and keep it on hand to add to a variety of breaded foods.  When making, do yourself another favor by doubling or tripling the recipe.  Store in an airtight container (I use a glass mason jar) and you’ll find many uses for it.

Until next time, Buon Appetito!

Leave a Reply

